Posts from October 2013

Spiritual Reflection and Yoga

Varaha Upanishads is the fifth niyama in the ethical code of yoga. It means surrender to God and spiritual reflection. Taking notice which yoga poses require surrender and which require strength are simple ways to practice this niyama. See Spiritual Reflection and Yoga.

spiritual reflection

Yoga Etiquette

Yoga etiquette means showing respect for others instead of only focusing on yourself in a yoga class. Here are some tips on maintaining humility that can guide us to the right behaviour leaving ego at the door. See Yoga Etiquette.

yoga etiquette

Self-Reflection and Yoga

Svadhyaya, the fourth niyama means self-reflection and understanding the God within ourselves. Developing spiritual practice, reciting prayers or meditative ponderings are ways that can lead us to self-honesty and God consciousness. See Self-Reflection and Yoga.

self reflection

Mountain Pose - Tadasana

Mountain pose is the foundation of all other yoga postures. It promotes the experience of stillness, clarity, strength, relaxation and stability that's associated with mountains. See Mountain Pose - Tadasana.

mountain pose